Designing a reverb tank that is compatible with ALL amps...

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jdurango

Trying to design a "buffer" circuit that will allow a chosen reverb tank to be driven by any amp's drive/recovery circuit (ie. the big names: Fender, Marshall, Vox, Boogie, Orange, Peavey, etc). I really need this design to be passive if at all possible. If this isn't feasible/realistic I could use a 9v circuit if absolutely necessary.

I'm an amateur so please bear with me, but I'm thinking :

- Start with the most sensitive/easiest to drive tank.
- Use an input and output pot, or resistors selectable via rotary switch to attenuate the signals to/from the drive/recovery circuit as needed for each amp variety.

Obviously the main obstacle would be impedance mismatch, but as long as the signal never gets extremely anemic or extremely distorted I can live with a little extra noise from poor impedance matching. Watcha think? I don't have a shop right now, or a wide variety of amps to test. Would this work in a passive circuit without major problems? Again, I can live with a little noise, heat, inefficiency or even moderate signal degradation for some amp varieties as long as the overall SOUND is still acceptable.

Thanks fellas!!!

The passive way of doing this would be a transformer, to match what the amp is designed to drive to what the tank is. Think this back and forth, so two different transformers with the required specs.

From accutronics we have
DIGIT #2 - INPUT IMPEDANCE
A = 8 Ohm
B = 150 Ohm
C = 200 Ohm
D = 250 Ohm
E = 600 Ohm
F = 1475 Ohm

DIGIT #3 - OUTPUT IMPEDANCE
A = 500 Ohm
B = 2250 Ohm
C = 10000 Ohm