Help Getting this 500 Series Aphex CX-1 Working Again (w/ 1537A chip)

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jjsound

Hey y'all. I'm a hobbyist, and I just came upon an Aphex CX-1 compressor. It seems like a cool vintage unit. I saw on the internet that Pin 15 should be cut immediately before throwing it in a lunchbox, which I did. It powers up fine, and I see the meters light up (though some of the LED bars don't light).

The problem I'm having is figuring out where the input signal stops. I run an oscillator through it, and I was poking around with my scope to find the signal in components. I found it in most of the places I expected to, but I'm also not seeing it where I think I need to in some spots.

Again, I'm totally new to audio repair, but I really bought this as a test to see if I could figure it out. Troubleshooting where the problem is has been slowing me down, though. I think I've pinpointed the problem area to the VCA section. I've attached the schematic page for reference.

This unit uses a 1537A chip for its VCA section, but I think in the incoming signal to the chip, there's a problem. It receives signal on one leg that it should see it on, but not on the other. Also, the voltage on some of the pins of 1537 is completely off from what it should be. So to me, that tells me that one of the inputs to the 1537 chip is off. I could very well be wrong, though.

I've also attached the block diagram for reference. I know this is a shot in the dark, as it's probably a pretty rare piece of gear that many people don't use anymore. If anyone has any advice on how to possibly find the fault or where I should really look, I'd really appreciate you looking into this.

Thanks!

Attachments

• Aphex CX-1 Docs.pdf
    159.9 KB · Views: 12
had a similar issue an one of these a while back