Newbie needs help with custom phantom circuit

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

damo76

Hello all,

Newbie here, Just finished my year long course in electronics so now I want to get into the nuts and bolts of electronics in audio.

For my first project I would like to build a passive DI/headphone amp box.

I want to try to supply power to the headphone amp using the same mic cable the will be coming out of the DI section. I am going to build a separate power supply for the amp which requires +/- 12 V 500mA and I want to somehow be able to feed this down the cable using the phantom power idea, but of course not actually using the phantom power from the mixer but my own power supply.

I have had a play around in multisim and i can get +12V down the cable using 24 ohm resistors, but given my lack of theory I cant seem to be able to tap into the 12V off the cable without causing the audio to dropout. I've used 400uF capacitors on each end. I'm thinking i could perhaps send 24V down the cable and somehow be able to tap this 24V supply and convert it to +/- 12 V without messing up the audio ? Is this even possible given i need around 500mA

I think i just need more theory in how the dc in the cable gets tapped correctly without affecting the AC

If anyone could point me in the right direction  I would be most grateful.

Nah, you can't do that because you need resistors large enough not to load the source but pass enough current to power the device. But a headphone amp could pull 50+ mA which is going to cause a massive drop in supply voltage. Use ohms law to understand how much / what the relation is.

If the cable is not long, you don't need balanced but you could still use the two conductor cable using one for signal and the other for power.

damo76 said:
For my first project I would like to build a passive DI/headphone amp box.