A Chicken Farmer Explains 15 Minute Cities

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Perfection is having good neighbors, but also enough property and/or trees that you can't see their houses. Urban life is for ants. IMO.
I agree, maybe you missed the sarcasm. But I don't see how that negates trying to improve on the state of many cities.

Yes, after all, "real" communism hasn't been tried yet. [/sarcasm]
What does communism have to do with more pedestrian friendly city planning? Rent free.

I agree. But I don't see how that negates trying to improve on the state of many cities.
I didn't miss the sarcasm. Having spent 27 years living in and/or commuting into Silicon Valley I have some experience with the problems. People piled on top of each other and crammed cheek to jowl doesn't leave much room for improvement. It's never going to be "good" much less great. And now the city dwellers want their energy demands to be met by converting rural spaces into ugly wind and solar farms. Not an improvement.

What does communism have to do with more pedestrian friendly city planning? Rent free.

No, that was a double entendre you didn't get. You still didn't explain what a city planning aligned with walkability over cars has to do with communism.
over the top central planning is a hallmark of communism. In the US, cities could use a little more law and order.
==
I saw a video clip today of one city using mental health workers communicating via zoom calls to calm down unstable people on the street during police stops. The police get the unstable person to talk with the mental health worker on a tablet computer terminal. According to the video clip it can work to stabilize upset people, and deescalate potentially violent situations.

It appears that we need to expand mental health services. What most cities are doing now doesn't seem to be working.

JR