Built a JFET Source follower with JFET current sink load microphone

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pasarski

I recently stumbled on this article.

https://sound-au.com/articles/jfet-design.htm#s7

I decided to try the JFET Source follower with JFET current sink load (Fig. 7.4) in a microphone as the author says it's a good choice for a high impedance source. I don't know if this has ever been used in a commercial microphone or not.

(Following is based on simulations and I'm by no means a expert in that, actually i just learned how to use LTspice, so take it with a grain of salt)

If you are wondering about the low value output coupling cap, it's just an experiment. It makes a quite substantial bump at about 100hz and rolls out the lows below that. The idea was to reduce plosives while not making the mic sound thin. The bump is dependent of the inductance of the trafo primary (I don't know the spec for a trafo I used so I just listened and chose a value that sounded best to me). You could use larger cap (also for C2) for a full bandwidth mic. How large, is again dependent of the primary inductance. Larger value actually gives a slight low end boost.

The microphone has crazy amount of headroom for a simple circuit. The downside is that it's quite low gain, in a SM7 ballpark. I used a Chinese T-8 trafo which is 7:1 ratio. I will change it to Neutrik NTE4 which is 4:1 (inverted) which would suffice in this circuit afaik (have to play again with the output cap after that). I think I gain about 5db more that way? I probably will also try it with a DC-DC converter at some point but it's really not needed for close miked vocals with a decent low noise preamp.

The other downside is that the JFET's and the source resistors have to be closely matched (how closely I don't know). You could see it as an upside also, it's not easy to mass produce.