Business Advice

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

djgout

So I'm wondering how many of you are full time techs? And I'm after some free advice so I know what it's worth....

I've been working full time as a tech for the past 8 years or so now as an employee for a pro audio company. I've been the head tech for 7.5 of those years and it's getting well past time for me to move on. There's no possibility of making more money there and I hate to feel topped out at 30 years old. Many of our clients have also said that they wouldn't do business with us if it wasn't for me, and recently I've had quite a few ask to hire me outside of our normal operations. I've also had several cold calls from studios that have never done business with us and wanted to hire me directly based on word of mouth.

Moral issues aside, I think it's time for me to have a conversation with my boss about going off his payroll and doing an independent contractor thing if he wants to keep me about. I just need to have all of my ducks in a row before I make that plunge. It's been easy to charge more than double what I make hourly there and as of right now I've got hours of work and not enough time to keep everything juggled. Specifically I'm curious as to how everyone is invoicing clients, collecting/not collecting taxes, and paying taxes/self employment fun hoops to jump through.
I'm looking into starting out with just a DBA and then from there hopefully something with some more protection for my personal finances.