Can I add an LED to the Schoeps/Alice circuit ?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

smikofficial

Circuit with FET vol 1.jpg

Hi,guys !
I am studying about microphones.
Thank you for learning a lot from this amazing site.
I'm asking you a question because I have a question recently.

Usually, DIY microphones don't seem to have LEDs on them.

Can putting LEDs on the microphone have a bad effect on the sound quality?

Also, if you can put an LED in the Alice circuit, I want to know which part of the circuit you can add.

Thank you for reading it.

This can be done very easy here. You could replace the zener with a smaller value zener like 9v and add a led in series with this zener ( until you have reached the 12V again of the original zener value). As different color led have different voltage drop you would have to experinent a little here but 1V difference will not cause any issues.

This can be done very easy here. You could replace the zener with a smaller value zener like 9v and add a led in series with this zener ( until you have reached the 12V again of the original zener value). As different color led have different voltage drop you would have to experinent a little here but 1V difference will not cause any issues.
If I connect it in series with the 9V zenor, is there no need to connect additional resistance? Normally, I knew that the driving voltage of the LED was 3V. I wonder if the voltage overload of the LED occurs when 9V is applied.

I was thinking of the same method actually, but without bothering changing the zener. Yes, most leds have a 2-3v voltage drop, but that's at the "usual" 20mA. At lower currents, that'll be somewhat lower (worst case 2.5v for a blue or white led), but the circuit won't mind being supplied with 14v instead of 12.