Consumer to Pro line level converter...

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sender

This is my frist post, by the way. So if I'm not 100% on all my terminology, I appolgize, I'm new to the whole DIY thing.

I'm looking for some information (hopefully a schematic) of a consumer to pro line level converter so I can plug my iPod and various other accessories into the line amp on the SSL. So any help would be great. If you can't supply me with a schematic, could you push me in the right direction of where to obtain one cheap?

Thanks a bunch!

Do you want to go analouge out of the iPod to the line amp? If so, then I guess a 1/8 inch mini plug to 1/4in stereo plug adapter would be the ticket.

If you are talking about digital to analogue conversion, then I would drag it into your computer and then play it back on whatever converter you have hooked up to the computer and then into the line amp. If you don't have a pro-level D/A converter, then you might as well go out of the iPod.

I may be completely missing your point, but that's what I gathered from your post.

[quote author="Sender"]I need something to convert unbalanced -10dbV to +4dbU[/quote]

Aphex used to make an active unit called the Model 124 that works very well - I have several of them. I'm not sure whether or not they still make it. In the schematics section of the Jensen Transformers website there's a schematic (AS012) for a passive box using, of course, Jensen transformers.

Good luck!

Any good-quality, low-noise amplifier circuit set for a gain of about 12dB and followed by a 1:1 coupling transformer would do the trick.

You can do it transformerless, of course, but I like to use a transformer in applications like this because the galvanic isolation prevents nasty surprises when interfacing equipment. ATI, who makes such boxes for the professional market, uses transformers.