Eckmiller TS10 + HS10 -- impedance issues

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Hello all,

I am racking a couple of Eckmiller TS10 + HS10 hi-lo filters to be integrated into a modern studio. These units are 200/200Ω. I am aware the impedance of these units has been discussed before. I gathered that many people strap resistors across the output to bring the output impedance closer to 600Ω. However, I am still having trouble getting a frequency response that is usable. I am curious if other people have the same experience or if I'm doing something wrong. I am a monkey when it comes to electronics (my background is software - different breed, different way of thinking) so any and all help is greatly appreciated.

----------

Ultimately, I would like these to play nice with the Burl Mothership converters (BAD8 and BDA8 cards). I don't have specs for impedance of the converters but I imagine it is a typical range for modern bridging gear.

Upon first sound tests, I could tell immediately they were dumping a bunch of lo-end while in ‘bypass' (the “<>” symbol). I tried several value resistors strapped across the output but none of them seem to give me a flat response without losing a ton of level.

I am using FuzzMeasure to get the frequency response of the units.

IMG_5828.jpeg

-----------

Here is a frequency sweep of the unit in BYPASS. First, I just did a loop with the converters to get a base measurement (red line at top). I then did sweeps using different value resistors across the outputs. You can see the level drop as I reduce the value of the resistor. At 150Ω, the response is looking good but I’m now -12dB from unity.

BURGUNDY = interface loop, control
PURPLE = no resistor across outputs
CYAN = 680Ω
MAGENTA = 220Ω
GREEN = 150Ω

Screen Shot 2024-04-25 at 7.12.11 PM.png

-----------