DIY Ribbon mic photos

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Twiggybush

Hi, I'm a newbie of sorts. I used to belong several years ago when this was Prodigy mic builders. Any who,  I've noticed a lack of ribbon passion so I'm here to reignite. I posted some pics at photobucket to give some ideas for those struggling with designing a mic. The chain link pics are from 7 years ago. The 44 clone is recent and is multi pattern.  The motor with 1/4" rails is something I cooked up last week.  I wanted to see if small NE52 neo-mags would have high gain. The gain is great. For less than $6 worth of magnets it's as loud or louder than anything I've compared it to. I use aluminum leaf.  Just for fun can anyone recognize what I used for the 44 shock mount?  I'm always glad to answer questions.  Keith
http://s847.photobucket.com/user/twiggybush/slideshow/DIY%20Ribbon%20microphones

Nice work! Is the shock-mount a frame from one of the Chinese ribbons like a Nady 210 or such?
I have a 210 that I've been meaning to re-ribbon, so thanks for the inspiration. Ribbons are pretty much the only thing I put on guitar amp speakers these days. Love that tone.

Thanks tchgtr.  (Nady 210)  might you mean Apex?  My thoughts on upgrading the Apex 210 would be to replace the motor.  If we're talking about the dogbone frame with 1/8" thick magnets.  I've never experienced much gain with 1/8" magnets. Also the ribbons so thick it impairs high end detail.  A thinner gap and thinner foil will improve gain and frequency response.  The hardest part of making a mic is the body.  The 210 would make a nice platform for a new motor.  The shock mount on my 44 clone is the knurled looking thingy that connects the mic to the stand.

Oops. Yep the Apex 210.