Eq based on Forssell's Equal R Gyrator

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

James HE

I started playing around with this after reading Fred Forssell's Eq paper.
http://www.forsselltech.com/Evolution%20of%20an%20EQ%20Design2.pdf

I was working on an eq using gyrators and decided to experiment with this one. Forssel writes that this gyrator design "has a distinct advantage over the other" Why? (I hope he or someone will elaborate.) It's straightforward and simple, well, it was until I made it complicated. :razz:

I did a bunch of math figuring out some values. Hell I went to art school I can't do math. :wink: so I went off on a few tangents. I was aiming to have a rotary switch to select frequencys but to split it up in different q's. So let's say with a 2 pole 6 position switch you can have three different frequncy's at 2 different q's. When trying to figure out what Q's and frequncies to use, I realized that the cap values for CS and CI at any frequency with a q of 1 could be swapped around to get a q of .25 and vise versa. These are the only 2 reasonable Q's I've found that swap around. (Well CS = CI with a Q of .5 so swap those if you want) A Q of .25 is about 4 octaves, a q of one is about 1 Octave. Were not going to be doing any surgery with this thing, but we have some flexability.

Now does it really work? Can it be done. I dunno! This is what I got.

equalRschemunbalanced.jpg

so basically flipping the "Q" switch swaps CS and CI around. I figured out how to switch it with a 4PDT switch. I'm sure it's right, but I need someone else to say "yeah that works" to put my brain at ease. One thing I have a question about is what happens to the caps when the switch is flipped, the volages with be going the oppisite way all of a sudden.