Get specific VU-meter built, who call?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tokoma

Hello!
I intend to get myself a quality VU meter for “desk” usage. Could use some pointers in a good direction. I wrote everything down at once, so excuse the wall-of-text.

I say “get” a meter, since I intend to get others to build and I’ll pay. Thereof my questions below. I have modest experience in DIY electronic component handling, and I’ve chosen to focus on getting good at other things in life. I’m no car mechanic, I just drive – kindof.

The meter will be for desk studio usage (no rackmount), in front of screen and used for mixing/music making only, which is my main income. I’ve looked around for months and I can’t find a single meter sold commercially that will fit my needs.

So far the Sifam AL29 looks like the better price/performance/reliability option. It doesn’t meet the VU specification 100% (IEC 60268-17:1990) but very few meters do today. I haven’t found a reliable way to locate which meters supports the VU spec 100% or not.
Older meters - like Weston, Simpson, Dixson and others - seems to me more risky to get. No support, not much to do if meter performance is degraded by time, not knowledgeable enough to accurately measure performance, nor to adjust it if necessary etc etc). However, comments and suggestions about this are very welcome. I am after an analog style meter, not an LED one.

For these meters, I shall then need a circuitboard. Though I don’t see Sifam making/selling such products intended for their own meters? I suppose such a board is not difficult to build for anyone who knows what he’s doing. But I’m fearful that a poorly built- or inappropriate board will affect the meter performance, and also not provide me with a meter calibration function.