Help identifying MOV

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

melmsmidth

Hello everybody!
I have a Furman Power conditioner that randomly jumps into protection mode. I think the problem can be this MOV (labeled as MOV1 on the board) but I can't identify the value, I have little experience with this kind of components.
It is placed between the two input mains wires (230V here) and it is connected to a 10AMP resetteable fuse on one of the lugs.
Can anyone help me with the value?
Thanks in advance!

MOV.jpg

I have certain doubts it's the MOV. When those go, they go with a pop/bang, and there's plenty of soot around (which is why they're sometimes heatshrunk).

What devices do you have plugged into that? Or does it do that even with no load connected?

The MOV was heatshrunk indeed. It does it with no load connected so the problem is inside the Furman.

It first stopped working going always into protection mode, and I changed a cap near the relay that I think starts the protection (you can see the info here No Power FURMAN PL-8 II Power Conditioner Repaired | Electronics Repair And Technology News). It came back to life but whith this issue that randomly goes into protection mode.

I read somewhere that sometimes the MOVs can fail intermittently before they go bad and that's why I thought about replacing it. It's a cheap part but I can't identify the value.

Any idea on where to look at? Maybe the resettable fuse?

Also, that capacitor, I would think, is in line with the mains live as a dropper resistor.
You did replace it with a Y rated capacitor didn't you?

The MOV may well be a 20mm diameter (going by the V20K marking), and is that "420" on the second row? That would likely be the clamping voltage.

Also, that capacitor, I would think, is in line with the mains live as a dropper resistor.
You did replace it with a Y rated capacitor didn't you?