Hi!

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dazzathedrummer

Hi,

I'm just starting out with DIY audio gear - I love the idea of building gear myself and necessity had lead me to look into my first build.

I'm  a musician and producer and I currently use an audio device set up that can accept 16 mic inputs. This is fine for the studio but when recording a live show, I have to do the old trick of plugging a TRS half-way into the channel inserts of the PA mixer in order to get a split into my recording gear.

Obviously this is not ideal and so I'd like to build a 16/32 mic splitter.

I literally don't know where to start so if anybody can advise me and/or point me in the direction of some past projects I would be very grateful.

Thanks,

Darren

You'd then need another 16 mic inputs...

Instead of plugging halfway in, you can make a set of TRS leads with the ring and tip shorted ("fixing" the normal 'break') and then taking the line level split.

each channel of a mic splitter only has one component: a transformer. -Detaile are at Jensen's site... and the Jensens are fantastic transformers.

If the cost is a too high, try the TRS trick.

SSLtech said:
You'd then need another 16 mic inputs...

Instead of plugging halfway in, you can make a set of TRS leads with the ring and tip shorted ("fixing" the normal 'break') and then taking the line level split.

each channel of a mic splitter only has one component: a transformer. -Detaile are at Jensen's site... and the Jensens are fantastic transformers.

If the cost is a too high, try the TRS trick.

Shrotened TRS's - I've never thought about that before! ....is this something that's available to by or it that a mod?

I looked at the Jensen transformers - they look good but they're quite expensive, I'd need 16 so that would be $812.......probably cheaper to buy a proprietary mic splitter.