I recently re-discovered analog

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

samplebias2

A few years ago I wondered if it was ever figured out how they created the voice of the "Cylon" character from the 1978 "Battlestar Galactica". There has never been a vocoder tone like it, ever. My internet search led me to a fan website, who's owner just happened to live 15 minutes from me. He had the contact info to the last person alive who was there in 1978, at Universal Studios, who ran the vocoder process and knew all the gear, including post-production. I've been pestering him/corresponding with him for 3 years trying to attain all the information.

I have been slowly rounding up the gear (that is attainable) and reverse engineering the process to try and recreate this iconic sound. My research continually lead me to this site many times so I decided to join! The youtube documentary is called "Voice Of The Cylon" and I have one more epic episode to film.

I am on the hunt for a Quad Eight MM-310, it's the last piece feasibly attainable. Here is the amazing vocal chain:

RCA BX44A mic
Nagra 1/4" tape
EMS 1000 vocoder
ARP 2500 synth (carrier signal)
Electrodyne 1208 console
LA-2A compressor
35mm full stripe (vocoder recording)

editing/processing:
Collins 26U-2 or 26W limiter (unclear)
Fairchild 660
Ampex 350
Electrodyne 1204
Countryman 968A Phase Shifter
Dolby Type A
back onto 35mm then 2" Ampex Quadruplex

Attachments

• Joe Cylon MSG.jpg
    Joe Cylon MSG.jpg
    111.5 KB · Views: 86
  • Cylon gear setup vocoder EMS.jpg
    Cylon gear setup vocoder EMS.jpg
    190.9 KB · Views: 84
  • Ampex 350 3.jpg
    Ampex 350 3.jpg
    246.6 KB · Views: 83
  • Electrodyne EMEAPP.JPG
    Electrodyne EMEAPP.JPG
    104.8 KB · Views: 80
  • JOE ARP EMEAPP.JPG
    JOE ARP EMEAPP.JPG
    151.1 KB · Views: 84