Ideal parameters to shoot for for good teletherapy audio

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

aaltmanpdx

Hi. As I just mentioned in my introductory thread, I'm an electronics hobbyist. I'm also starting a new career as a therapist, and will be working primarily via telehealth. I'm working on a nice home office setup both for my own comfort, my sense of pride and enjoyment, and hopefully to help clients with their own sense of the reliability, comfort and familiarity of the experience. What experience can you offer on what factors would matter in that space?

The platform I'm working with right now is Simple Practice. They barely publish anything about the technical details of their platform, but as far as I can tell it uses Twilio for the video chat portion. - some combination of iSAC, OPUS, PCMU, PCMA or G.722 audio codecs, depending on browser.

I am working on perfecting my room and mic setup. Room RT60 is around 0.3 across the audio band. I am also in the process of building some broadband absorbers just in case, even though just based on the numbers that doesn't seem to be needed.

Current mic that seems to work pretty well is an EV ND457A. My girlfriend also has a Rode NT1A that is notably awesome for noise response but that makes my voice sound oddly nasal. I'm interested in trying other condenser mic setups. Ideas? DIY is cool but I'm not in a cost-no-object situation. What should I try?

Other stuff I've got to contend with: it's a basement room, finished, but with some duct work nearby and the central heating adjacent to it. HVAC noise is noticeable and when recording seems to show up as a pretty strong bump around 100Hz. I suspect there's probably a lot I could do with better sealing around the door, but other ideas would be welcome.

Last edited by a moderator: