Interesting, can this be adapted????

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

da_ardvark

This is a site dedicated to ESL or electrostatic loudspeakers.

These speakers use 6 micron mylar with various conductive coatings.

I was wondering if this may be adapted for use in capsule DIY??

Sry, I'm a newbie and I may be fishing. If so please accept my apologies in advance for my ignorance.

http://www.quadesl.org/Hard_Core/General_ESL_Theory/general_esl_theory.html

Go to the hard Core section on the left and look at varions interesting DIY coatings for the mylar.

electrostatic speakers are so nice
it would be a shame to disect them just for capsule use
unless the are already fried.. :sad:

there are peeps here evaporating gold onto mylar

maybe you can work out a deal with the speakers if thery are working
OR some other arrangement for a few peices of mylar with the evaporated gold...

it IS a cool and interesting question
thanks for asking this

looking forward to hearing the answer
later
ts

i found some ES tweeters once for a steal and intended to try to reverse one into a mic, but I think it was XVLK who explained why it couldn't be done.. but I don't remember why... :roll:

I can understand your aprehension. Let me assure you my intent was never to disassamble working ESLs.

My thought was to experiment with various alternate coatings. This could be a complete waster of time, but it would theoretically allow a very cheap and easy capsule build.

Much could be learned perhaps.

yes I see.... and if there is "replacement" material available to us, intended for repairing the ES speaker, this would, no doubt, be a benifit to us all...
good idea.. :idea: .. lets see if we can determine if it will work.. :grin:

any guru advice? brainiacs...hehe :grin:
later ts

I was also thinking that 6 micro mylar is pretty common (unless coated)