Jon Wolfert on 50 Years of JAM Jingles

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KA-Electonics.com

Jon Wolfert on 50 Years of JAM Jingles

“At JAM, jingles are still hand-made the old-fashioned way,” he [Jon Wolfert] said. “We are one of the few places, if not the only one, that still offer jingles with a seven-voice vocal group. We use other configurations as well, but a lot of our classic packages were done with seven singers and we get orders to re-sing those all the time, constantly.

From Radioworld: https://www.radioworld.com/columns-and-views/roots-of-radio/jon-wolfert-on-50-years-of-jam-jingles

I worked as a freelance tech for JAM for a great many years. They were a terrific client and I have huge respect for Jon and Mary Lyn.

I also know a great many of the singers who also spent a lot of time at Dallas Sound Lab where I also did maintenance engineering.

rwf-JAMS-Jon-ML-ControlRoom2023-726x482.jpg

Jon and Mary Lyn Wolfert

rwf-JAMS-Jon-ML-D2session1974-726x519.jpg

Jon and Mary Lyn in 1974

RWM1276.Features.rwf_jams_group_1986-726x469.jpg

A seven-voice group in 1986: Brian Beck, Bruce Upchurch, Jim Clancy, Kay H. Sharpe, Chris Kershaw, Judy Parma and Abby Holmes.

I wrote Jon and received a really nice reply.

He needs help maintaining his MCI console, 2" machines, and 25 year-old Euphonix.

If @Brian Roth is listening to this thread and is up for a trip to Texas I'd be glad to refer him to Jon.

One interesting thing about Jam is the shear number of 2" masters that require off-site storage. He had to look for a bank that had enough large safe deposit boxes and that was quite challenging. He finally found one near me.

I haven't heard from John Eldridge in years. He must be in his 80s by now.

You did house calls a lot longer than I did - which attests to your stamina.

Thanks Brian.