Kester "44" (63/37)

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

martthie_08

just a little rant about the new solder I purchased last week:

what a bunch of crap!
Seriously, I have been soldering for almost 20 years and I can't even seem to get a simple steady XLR wired up.  :mad:
Is there something I am not aware of or is the trusty Stannol Radiolot I had been using all this time really so much better for "non-professional" use?

The solder is really hard to heat up and gets dry in the blink of an eye. Exactly what I don't need, sigh...

I wanted to write: of course lead-free solder is a pain, but it seems it's regular leaded.... so no clue what your real problem is. may be you need a higher temp, that does the trick sometimes....

- Michael

martthie_08 said:
The solder is really hard to heat up and gets dry in the blink of an eye. Exactly what I don't need, sigh...

Maybe you need a new tip for your soldering tool, or maybe a new soldering tool. Are you sure the tip isn't corroded and are you sure it's getting hot and staying hot?

Maybe you need a new tip for your soldering tool, or maybe a new soldering tool. Are you sure the tip isn't corroded and are you sure it's getting hot and staying hot?

well, my soldering irons are not in their best shape (got two, one temp controlled Weller, one cheapo ERSA Tip 260),
but just a couple days ago I was doing perfect joints with the old stuff, but I'll post back tomorrow after a visit to the local electronics supplier.

60/40 has a range between liquid and wet.

63/37 is Eutectic. Goes solid *instantly*.

If you've spent decades working with the slow-set stuff, I am told that eutectic is very different.

However eutectic is also the lowest melting-point alloy, so I don't understand "hard to heat up".

What is your source? In today's markets, mis-mark and outright fraud happens.