Lomo 19a19 TubeMic Power Supply

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

geebeeVIE

Hi Folks,

I bought a Lomo 19a19 Microphone, one of the "butchered" kind, which has the most  horrible selfmade power supply I ever saw. This PS is delivering 6,0 and 90 V to the microphone.

I also have a chinese power supply, which is quite a simple circuit, however I am a noob when it comes to electricity.
I am already proud that I managed to trace the circuit (hopefully correctly....)

So I want to modify it to generate the voltages I need.
The heater can stay as it is, as it is perfectly matching the specification of the 6231B-R tube.

However, I need to get the anode voltage down.

I am considering the following:

Replace R1 and R2 with 100k  resistor, 0,25W
Replace R3 with 100k variable resistor, 0,25W
Replace C2 - C4 with 100uF/250V

Am I halfway in the right ballpark?

I think the two Zeners - rated at 75V each, should provide some kind of protection. Should they be replaced as well?

The two zeners look to me like they are shunt regulating the supply to 150V. To change the voltage to 90V you need to replace them with a pair of zeners that total 90V. You may need to increase R1, R2 and R3 a little to ensure the correct current flows through the zeners but certainly not to 100K. Increasing the values of the smoothing caps is a good idea.

Cheers

Ian

So I've done some research on these mics because I've wanted to DIY one.
From what I've read, there are a few mic variations that need different PSU  (there are several good threads on 19A19 here on Groupdiy - use the search)

The tube version that it sounds like you have needs 90v for B+ and ~6.0v for heaters.

You say that the PSU "is delivering 6,0 and 90 V to the microphone" but that "I need to get the anode voltage down. "
What is the B+ voltage you are aiming for? And why?