New Purchase - I'm EXcited!!

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

alexc

Hi All

I'm really excited by my new purchase - a mid 70s 'Sho-Bud' 'Maverick' pedal steel guitar  8) 8)

It's a beginner's model and near the cheapest of their range but I'm a beginner, so .. OK!

I decided why should I wait any longer ? and sure enough an ebay deal came up on a nice, single deck model - so I jumped! Pretty reasonable price considering that these things are not common where I live, way down south in Tasmania, Australia  :)

Been practising my slidey stuff on a steel Dobro style guitar, but this will catapult me squarely into the world of late '60s country - Gram Parson's and The Byrds style.

Just can't wait to put this fella thru some of my flagship DIYs

- fender style 'brown' preamps with vibrato
- pultec style eq
- fairchild style limiter or even the rca style, ua 175 style or a myriad of others  8)

-------

I'm going straight into my music room now to get some tracks up and running for when this guy arrives at my door  ;) ;)

I'm am so excited - and that's a GOOD thing  ;D ;D for someone who spent 3 weeks in the hospital over christmas    :eek: :eek:  (I'm better now!)

What a great planet this is!  Just a short step from the 'imagining' to the 'delivery'

Makes you realise however, thinking of the many in this world who have very little, just what a privilege it is to live in a stable, prosperous country.

Sometimes that can be hard to reconcile. But for now I'M EXCITED.

I'm already thinking what 'silent' pickup to replace the stock sure-to-be-noisey-as-hell pup on it.

I'm thinking some stacked humbucking blade types in a single coil form factor.
Maybe an active if I have space inside to play with.

Or not!

Cheers
Alec

Attachments

• Sho-Bud Maverick pic1.jpg
    Sho-Bud Maverick pic1.jpg
    26.2 KB
btw Cemal,