Problem with ssltech power supply

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mkoijn

Hi,

I'm a newbie here and in electronics. I've just built the power supply (+18V,-18V,+48V)designed by Keith Andrews (ssltech) as shown here

http://www.beatbazar.com/guests/ssltech/kps-1/index.htm

I could only get a 21V 0V 21V transformer. Measuring open circuit voltages I get +20V, +49V and -30V. Will these voltages be lower when they are connected to the preamp I'm building? I'm a little concerned to connect to the preamp I'm building as the That1512 chip has maximum 20V rating. Any advice?

Many thanks

Albert

Your +49v DC is fine for your Phantom, the -30v is a little "off" !
try this for some help :
http://www.electronics-lab.com/articles/LM317/

Check your connections with the Traffo data sheet etc, voltage will drop when
in circuit and you can drop small amounts with pairs of 1N4001's in series.
I did this to get nearer to the +/- 15v required for the TL052/TLE2082 used
for the 9k, was 1N4148's actually, 2 in series from each rail.
You shouldn't see -30v on the output of a -18v reg though !!

Mine did the same thing on the negative side. Seems it needs a load to come down. As soon as I hooked it into the circuit it went right to -17.98.

That was my experience anyways.

mm

Thanks, After connecting a load, I get -19.6V and +19.3V ???? I'm using lm7818 and lm7918. The phantom power is exactly 48V

I used a 22v tranny, and my voltages were right around 18v (+/- .2 or so) on both rails and 44v for the phantom?

Not sure why your voltages would be so much higher. Are you measuring with a good meter? I used to have a cheap digital meter that was not accurate so I bought a nice Fluke that I now trust impeccably.

mm