Question about circuit flow

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kyle

Hi forum, I'm fairly new to electronics and I'm trying to get a handle on everything. I'm about to build NYDave's Re..p (just waiting on the Edcor transfomer) and I've got parts for a fuzzface on the way.

A pattern I frequently see in circuits is the center lug on a pot connecting the CW lug. What does that do? Is it the signal coming out of the resistor at that point and folding back on itself, or is it coming in there... I just don't what's happening to the signal there, and I'd appreciate any illumination on the topic.

An example of this is VR2 in the Re..p schematic:
http://www.ionrecords.com/tapeop/ampinterface.jpg

Thank you!!

-Kyle

That configuration is considered a "rheostat" or variable resistor. It works like you think with the signal flowing across the resistive element and the wiper just shunts the signal at the point where the wiper it touching.

That much makes sense, but why does it shunt back into itself? Why wouldn't that shunt go to the output?

-Kyle

[quote author="Kyle"]That much makes sense, but why does it shunt back into itself? Why wouldn't that shunt go to the output?

-Kyle[/quote]

You mean why the third terminal is even used ? You're right, it's in fact redundant, you could as well just use one of the outsides and the wiper.

But since it's there anyway (you already paid for it) why not use it ? If the wiper-contact becomes faulty you still have the safeguard of at least the full resistance between the two circuit-connections.

But indeed, in theory it's of little use. But doing it like this does have a use in real-life.

Bye,

Peter

Ok, starting to make a little more sense.

Let's say the signal is going into the pot, travels halfway through the resistive element and gets shunteohhhHHH!!!

I think I get it!