Should I Build 500 or 51X?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

amarten

I posted this earlier today in the Brewery section. Didn't have a complete understanding of where to post it. I suppose this is a better location. Tried to delete the initial post, got an error message telling me that I couldn't delete the post. This is a time-sensitive question, so I'm reposting it here. Sorry about the repost, I realize that's probably frowned upon.

A) I'm a student building a 500 or 51X series rack for a class project, and I'm trying to get the most long term use out of the money I'm about to spend. I plan to have these racks for a long long time. The ~$1200 that I'm spending for the rack/PSU/my first two modules is pretty much all the available spending money I have, so I want to be absolutely sure I do this right.

B) So, from this moment in time, which format would I get the most use out of for the future? 500 series or 51X?
I see a bunch of DIY modules that I want to build, and many of them are for either 500/51X. I'm going to be building one of the racks from classicapi.com. According to him, I can't put more than 11 VPR modules and 11 51X modules on the PSU he specs for his racks. So, I would be stuck at 11 modules of 500 series, and 11 modules of 51X. I'm fearing that I won't find enough 51X modules running off of 24V to fill the 11 spaces, and will end up with empty useless spaces, as I can't have more than 11 VPR modules.

This confuses me though. Wouldn't the only determining factor for how many modules I can have in a rack be the current consumption of each module?
If that's true, then why am I only able to have 11 VPR modules? Would it not make sense that I could have more than 11 VPR modules running so long as they ran well below the 130mA per module spec, allowing the 24V modules to eat up whatever they needed?