Soundcraft Sapphyre maintenance and repair

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Thomas Eg

Hello everyone

I’ve bought a Soundcraft Sapphyre with 24 I/O modules and 3 Dual Stereo Input modules.

I’ve done some basic maintenance - cleaning and deoxidization. The power supply has been checked by an expert. All caps are intact and all boards have been cleaned with isopropyl alchohol.

I’m new to electronics and don’t have a lot of experience with troubleshooting.

Some of the switches are still a bit noisy but overall the console is working fine. There is one problem though:

When the mixer is turned on seven of the modules have their monitor path cut switch LED turned on. If the solo button is pressed it’s possible to toggle the switch on six out of the seven modules. After some time all the switches fade out and after 10 minutes all LEDs have turned off.

The LED of the AFL button on Aux 5 on the master module is constantly on. This doesn’t fade out.

What would your advice be? Is it possible that recapping will help?

Could it be a problem with the logic system? And where can I find info on troubleshooting this?

Any advice will be of great help!

Thank you in advance!

Best regards
Thomas

Hello everyone

I’ve bought a Soundcraft Sapphyre with 24 I/O modules and 3 Dual Stereo Input modules.

I’ve done some basic maintenance - cleaning and deoxidization. The power supply has been checked by an expert. All caps are intact and all boards have been cleaned with isopropyl alchohol.

I’m new to electronics and don’t have a lot of experience with troubleshooting.

Some of the switches are still a bit noisy but overall the console is working fine. There is one problem though: