SP C1 Modification

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sowhoso

i have Studio Projects C1 that i would like to warm up/kill some HF

what mod(s) would you suggest for a complete newb?

thx!

(btw, am i really going to have to go thru all that stuff everytime i post?)

Easiest mod, change the capsule. The C1 has a 67 style capsule which isn't great for the C1's circuit. Replace it with any number of capsules available online.

Strangely, I actually like the RK87 capsule in the C1. I've recorded a sample with it in one off my C1 mics on the Microphone parts site.

I've heard that the RK47 is also a great option for the C1. I have a spare pair I've been looking for a home for so I might pop one in one of my C1s and post a comparison.

Here is a thread you might check out:

http://www.groupdiy.com/index.php?topic=35202.0

Here is a link to a circuit trace.

http://www.twin-x.com/groupdiy/displayimage.php?pid=4434&fullsize=1

You could also change the polarization method of the capsule and eliminate C18 the coupling cap. I did this to a MXL 2006 (which as a very similar circuit) and replaced the capsule with a C12 clone. Tamed what seemed like to me a brittleness to the sound. Also, this one has a pot to adjust the bias on the FET. If you have a 'scope you can do it the right way, I don't so on another mod I just adjusted for a voltage. I don't know off hand what the optimal parameter is on this one, and I don't remember what I set the ohter one to I'll have to look up my build thread on HR.com!

Do you have any photos of the innards?
This is what's known as the Shoeps circuit. It's very common these days with transformer-less mics, and actually sounds pretty good. Blue Jinn has given a good link to a schematic (something you might want to include when you ask questions here, as you will likely get more help).