SSL 661E power supply issue

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Azatplayer

Hi guys, first post with trouble written all over it! Hopefully Keith has some gold for me as ive been digging up dirt!

I tech for a couple studios here in Melbourne Australia, guitar shops as well and also do custom valve gear.
One of my clients has a 6000 seres SSL. Ive done various repairs on the old girl, repaired a few cards and had cleaned up the power supplies some time ago.
I have had zero experience with these things, tho they all have a beginning and an end and ive managed to get around them with some thought.
I have a power supply issue on an older 661E thats the latest problem shes having.

Its dropping the -20 rail as soon as a loads put on it. In situ, it ends both rails, flick power off and on and they return, but with any load at all, it fails both rails.
On my bench i ran it under load one rail at a time and the -20 is the culprit. I replaced the bridge recs 6 months ago in this unit as well as the fans at the time. It had failed on one side and i did both recs as a matter of course.
Its a pretty untouched unit, has no fuses and thats a mod on the board to do, original caps, cards were till i recapped them and replaced two of the dead trannies found.
Been running fine since, but was called out to look at them as the second unit a 661G was running terribly hot and turning off. They had figured it was the issue but i guessed that it was doing all the work and this older one was not drawing current.
2 units into a changeover unit, all appears ok. Turn the old unit off and the G keeps going, turn the G off and the old unit fails.

I can not see anything wrong anywheres visually or with a meter. Ive swapped cards around, replaced the components in the -20 PSU monitor circuit thinking maybe that played a part, still am suspicious of it.