Transformer balanced Multipattern LDC with M7 capsule build advice?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GalenH

Hello all,

I'm a totally newbie to mic building, so if I ask some silly questions, please keep that in mind.

I am really interested in building a large diaphragm, multipattern, transformer balanced (but not tube) microphone with an M7 capsule, kind of after the sound of an m49. Of course
I understand that I wouldn't be able to get that close without copying the tube, headbasket design, etc. But I want something that functions well for many sources with a mellow tone and is lower maintanence and weight than a tube mic.

I really love the sound of m49s but there's no possible way I could afford one in this current reality, and I like to make things anyway. Tube circuits are something I'd rather not mess with, being a beginner, and they are also too heavy and complex for my current life situation, I'd rather not deal with an external psu.

I would ideally like to find a kit that could supply the electronics, like the micparts kits (I know there are mixed reviews) and then I could change out the capsule for a good M7.

However, the micparts kits have only cardioid/omni, switched internally, and I would far rather have at least figure 8, if not subcard, supercard, in addition.

Of course I could make the mics dual output, and have an infinitely variable polar pattern, but sometimes I record larger ensembles, and I don't want to use twice as many channels for one mic.

I really loved the sound of a soundelux u195 that I had, and I think a large part of that sound is the oversized transformer, but a multipattern mic that has a similar flavor would be far more useful for me, especially for recording a singing guitarist with 2 fig 8s, etc.