What is responsible for soundstage in a preamp design?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

user 125886

I have recently been doing something I told myself that I would never do again. That is, record vocals through the onboard preamps of my audio interface. That interface being a fairly cheap Motu M4. I am not a professional recording engineer, just a musician / hobbyist. However, I really need some experienced advice on this.

Here is my dilemma. I have recorded through almost every kind of notable preamp (tube, discrete opamp, neve style, onboard IC opamps). The main difference I have noticed is not the color of the tone (warm vs cold) or (dark vs bright). All of that tone stuff seems to be covered in these modern times with new IC style opamps and even plugin emulations of hardware. The real difference I hear is (2D vs 3D). That is what it seems the newer interfaces and plugins can't replicate. I was wondering what the exact culprit to that issue is?

Let's just leave out tube and neve amps. Let's just compare the difference between a preamp with discreet opamps (2520), and one with IC small form factor things that are in every audio interface. They both have detail, warmth, and clarity. However, the discrete designs has depth with a 3D soundstage. Conversely, the IC opamp is like watching a 2 dimensional black and white cartoon. No depth, just flat.

So what is responsible for the depth and 3D soundstage? Is it the discrete form factor (2520), Or is it the transformers that are usually associated with the 2520 form factor?

Last edited:
However, the discrete designs has depth with a 3D soundstage.