DIY DI box for recording guitar Amp

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

eraz

Hello there, I am looking to build my own DI box for capturing the direct signal of my amps. A dummy load is not needed, as my plan would be to leave the cab connected using a through output, so the power amp sees the correct impedance load of the cab. Are there any projects out there, or is someone interested in helping me?

I have some basic understanding and experience in building/soldering DiY kits, but when it comes to designing something from the ground up, I am a complete noob!

Cheers!

Exactly. A box I can put in between the guitar amp and the cabinet to capture the signal which comes directly from the power amp!
There are boxes out there which do that, like a Suhr RL or a Captor X, but they all also have a reactive/resistive load in it, which I don't need/want.

You could make an attenuator to plug in with the speaker with a high value potentiometer and a cap, then connect that output to any DI, passive or active. You need to reduce the level a lot for it to work with a DI and line level interface. I did this years ago and it worked fine.

This is common on a lot of guitar amps. Just pad down one of the speaker taps to reduce the amplitude down to line(ish) levels.

See: https://diagramas.diagramasde.com/audio/sovtek_mig100h.pdf

5K into 200ohms, or about a 30dB reduction.
Thanks for the schematic.
So this would work for a 30dB reduction as you say?
But according to the schematic only for a 8ohm output on the power amp, or doesn't it really matter, if I then would choose to use the 16ohm output?

Attachments

• test.png
    test.png
    196.3 KB · Views: 2
I recall vaguely from decades ago that Peavey sold an accessory box for that (ID-1 something?). It involved a step down pad, and IIRC some EQ sound shaping to mimic guitar speaker response.

JR