MILA-1 decent build pictures

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kingston

I built quite the MILA-1 preamp here. It should really be called MILA-2 because I've extended the features and ranges significantly. Max gain is about 80dB, way more than the original due to more relaxed output stage feedback range. The layout is an ultimate success. This is my first project where I don't see a trace of 50hz hum even at max gain looking at FFT plots. Careful planning, paranoid shielding of wires and lots and lots of mistakes in past projects finally paid off. Sturdy copper bus ground helps I guess. Power supply is a regulated (250V B+ and 12.6V heaters) brute force thingy, reminiscent of G9 with some (probably unnecessary) tweaks like additional RC networks.

Transformers are Cinemag CMMI-10C input, CM-9589L output.

MILA_front2_web.jpg

MILA_front1_web.jpg

I didn't test the feedback "range" switch before having the panels engraved and it actually goes to about +30dB, unfortunately not shown on the panel now. I actually didn't quite get why newyorkdave had intentionally limited the feedback range with the mere 3-way switch, and used the unnecessary parallel resistor configuration for the output feedback. 6-way double pole rotary switches are just as cheap, and one can easily extend the feedback range from 50k to no-feedback and anything in between.

And the overdrive is very controllable and good sounding this way. Maybe NYD only likes linear amplification.

One other thing I learned here: always laser fonts and graphics if you can. The graphic "wheels" around knobs show some engraving crud. I told the engraving guy to "cut corners and save time when you can" and that's the result. At least it only shows in pictures with a camera flash. Since this is anodised black panel, laser would have been ideal.