Royer mod w/ figure 8

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sbranco

Hey folks,

I am pretty new to DIY. I am getting two B2 pro's with the thought of doing the Royer mod to them maybe with a couple changes suggested.

I saw that Duka did that with his B2 pro. I figure I will do this project first on perf board and then maybe try the full G7.

With a pretty good dual diaphram capsule (797), it seems a shame not to try and keep the figure 8. Is that a waste of time? and if not, has anyone done it?

Am I right that the U47 head amp used a plain switch on the mic to get cardiod and omni while the G7 uses varying voltages from the psu to get all three patterns.

I think Zebra50 suggested in an old thread to borrow that part of the circuit from the G7 to vary the voltage to obtain figure 8. I think he said you would need an extra resistor and a cap to ground.

However, that old mic building article by Debenham, Robinson and Stebbings in the Mic Meta, Fig. 6 seems to indicate that a simple three position switch with a few resistors could provide all three patterns.

A few questions:

Is the varying voltage way better because you connect more directly to the tube? ...because remote switching is desirable?

Remote switching doesn't seem that much of an advantage to me since the psu must be kept close to the mic anyway.

If I go either way, do you think I can still do it on perf board wiring point to point? One advantage of the Royer was its simplicity.

the B2 pro body is about 50 to 56 mm diameter.

Thanks for any input. I am electronically challenged but I am reading the meta's and searching the board but haven't figured this one out yet. Thought maybe I would reach out for help.