Advice b4 i start building my Green Pre's?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jaotao

Hello all i'm finally getting around to building my Green Pres (first DIY proj) and was wondering if anyone's got any advice about what to expect, what to start with first, what to do, what not to do, etc etc?

I've been soldering cables for a few years and i've got an electronicsy mate who'll be helping and overseeing my work but other than that my plan is basically to follow what i see on Peter's photos, carefully checking and learning about each of Ptown's kit's component as i go, is this utterly naive? (finding it hard to work out another approach)

I've got a stardard multi-meter and soldering iron, a nice clean work space, lots of patience. 4 pcb's + psu, components for 2 channels.

Any thoughts at all are greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Matt

Or you could check the advice given to you the first time you started this thread.

http://www.groupdiy.com/index.php?topic=14875

Matt

Patience.

Good thing that, build slowly & check things as you go. Measure each resistor as you put it in, on the 1% resistor parts Orange & Red can sometimes look very similar.

Peter

Familiarize yourself with the different components before starting. Otherwise you're bound to make mistakes.

Read the Green Pre Meta and use the search function. All the information you will need is already here.

When I stuff PCBs, I like to bag and mark all the parts before I start, like this:

DSC00041.jpg

It really makes stuffing the board easier.

Double- and triple-check to make sure you're soldering the right component in the right place.

And don't forget to read the Green Pre Meta.

Let me say that again: READ THE META.

Peace,
Al.