So how did you guys initially learn about electronics?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sammas

Do most of you have formal training?

Did you teach yourself?

Do you need to have had formal training to produce your own electronics for sale? (eg. Original Designs?)

Im currently Studying Composition and Production at University. This gives me the opportunity to study 36credit points of external stubjects (almost a full year of studying what ever i want spread across the 3 year course). Im thinking of learning the fundamentals of electronics in an electrical engineering degree. I'll have to do a maths course but after that i should be able to do the fundamental physics and theory behind electronics.

I want a back up to a music career. Do you think this would be beneficial, or do you think i should just take it on myself? i have do about 8 hours travel a week so reading is most possible without interrupting anything.

Oh and i'm about to take on an SSL clone as my first DIY after a few amp repairs and what not...

no formal training for me - i know i know hard to beleive right :green: I'm from a traditional graph design background and only started all things DIY a few years back with the midibox sid project from ucapps...made a few more boxes from midibox, then found tt which is now this drum...and the analog ride began :)

Oh, and I can't big up that GSSL enuff either - great project to do!