Building Dual 18 V Power Supply Question

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tdstotler

Hello All,
I have been a audio engineer for about 15 years and decided just to get into electronics about a year ago and could use some newbie advice.
I am trying to build a power supply that I saw online for the under the DIY Links, 'SSLtech's KPS-1' I belive it is.
My really dum question is this. How should I measure the rail voltages comming off of the +, -, and ground. Right now the multitester read 18.5 from the + rail and 16.9 from the - rail. Should these not be of equal power. Also I hear people talking about testing the power supply under load, I assume this means while its supplying power to the device, correct? Should I use my ground as reference when testing the + voltage or the - voltage. Again I know these are stupid questions but I could use some help.
Also one last thing I have noticed is that all power supplys use 2 pairs of small capacitors on the inputs and outputs of voltage regulators. much smaller then the smoothing cap. I know how to figure out the correct capacitor size needed for the first smoothing cap, immediatly past the rectification, but I cannot find no information on obtaining correct capacitor sizing for these regultors. Also I notice they vary between 100NF, .01 Uf, 10 UF, etc.. The only information that I can find is that they help keep the regulators stable. Again any knowledge on these would be appreciate. Thanks in advance for helping a very green newbie.

Todd

Thanks for the info. I am using 7818 and 7918 Regulators. I did double check the transformer and all connections seem solid.
I dug up some research that you can use a 100 ohm resister to test a power supply under load but have never done this. Any body have any info on this? Do I hook the resistors up in series from the output rails?