Marshall Valvestate 8040 Tube Heater Power Resistor Problem

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chilidawg

Hi all, it's been awhile since my last post.

Too busy repairing stuff, from ATX power supplies, generic SMPS, PC mainboards to graphics cards.

This amplifier just got sent to me today for a very simple problem; power push switch with a broken shaft. I fixed it, but then I noticed some burnt tracks when I was desoldering the power switch and wires to get the board free.

The burnt tracks are under a pair of 68 ohm 3W power resistors, which according to the schematic is for the tube heating element. Obviously, these resistors are generating a lot of heat to cause that kind of damage.

Now I'm really a noob with tube stuff, so pardon me for a very stupid question.

Is it ok to replace the resistors with ceramic 5W wirewound resistors?

Will the change affect the sound? (<- this question is actually from the amplifier's owner, lol)

If I don't change them out, what would be the best way to mount a heatsink on them? I've got plenty of heatsinks with different sizes, thickness and profiles that I salvaged from scrap boards.

Honestly, I'm just trying not to spend a dime at all if there's an effective solution, cause they look fine, resistance measured fine, only the copper tracks are not.

Attachments

• IMG_20240219_180923.jpg
    IMG_20240219_180923.jpg
    5.7 MB · Views: 1
  • IMG20240219180848.jpg
    IMG20240219180848.jpg
    2.7 MB · Views: 1
  • IMG_20240219_181640.jpg
    IMG_20240219_181640.jpg
    319.6 KB · Views: 0
Probably better to get a couple of ali housing resistors that you can bolt to the chassis. 5 watts wont fit in there too well.
Out of curiosity I tried them, they fit, just not perfectly centered on the component print.