Impedance and related attenuation question based on using transformers for "colo

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fazeka

Hi all,

I plan on using a pair of 1:1 600:600 isolation transformers on my Neotek Series 1E console 2-mix outputs.

I would like to switch between running them at 1:1 and 1:2 (switchable secondary between 600 and 150 ohms).

Also, if it were possible to put an attenuator on the output before the input into the two-track (Alesis Masterlink).

I guess I am wondering about any problems with impedance, I ask because I am still learning about impedance.

Seems like the Neotek outputs are going to be a couple of hundred (100, 200, 300) ohms? And the input to the two track is going to be something like 1k or more?

And that I read going straight from the Neotek to the two-track should be fine (low output impedance to high input impedance = bridging).

But now I am introducing the 600:600 (or 600:150) transformers...

So I am going from < 600 ohms up to "only" 600 ohms and then out to 600 (or 150 ohms).

My concern: Would going out of the Neotek into the 600:600 transformers cause any problem/damage? I thought I read it's better to have something like a roughly 10x difference between output to input? e.g., 100 ohms to 1k ohms, etc.

Secondarily, what kind of attenuator would I need on the output, after the transformers? A "U"?A "T"? Not sure what output impedance I am wanting to have on that output before it hits the two track... which is dictated by the kind of pad to use... and I think I only want maybe 6 to 10 dB attenuation, so neither an adjustable nor a rotary with discrete steps but just a switch.

Help a newb understand?

Thanks,
Chris

fazeka said:
I would like to switch between running them at 1:1 and 1:2 (switchable secondary between 600 and 150 ohms).
Why not? But don't expect significant difference between positions.