Recapping Altec 525A
« on: October 26, 2018, 01:58:22 PM »
I've got 4x Altec 525As (M20/M30) that I'm working on cleaning up. 2 are still fully stock. 2 have been worked on at some point, but I'd like to just make them all the same. I'm new to the art of cap selection so I'd love any feedback you may have.

I'm looking at CE MFG's 20/20/20/20 cans...not cheap, but easy.

I got Sprague Atoms (orange...I guess slightly older than the blue?) for the 3000uf caps will have to figure out a mounting scheme.

Leaning toward Solen "fast" polypropylene for the output cap. Solens are 5.1uf, originals are 5uf. Close enough?

Then there's the mystery cap. .25uf 400V Hopkins Eng. Co.
Anybody know what type this is? Thoughts on good replacement, or if it's even worth replacing?

Other items I might check off the list. Adding diodes to or in place of the old rectifiers, grounded IEC socket pigtails for the power cable. Maybe a Pigtail for the output.

I'm also considering replacing the old cloth cables for the mics with newer foil shielded 5+ground conducter wire, though I'll test the existing cables once the recap is done before making a decision.

I'd also like opinions on the transformers. I have 3x 4665s, and I also have a bunch of Triad HS-1s I might try as well. Or is there anyone out there that likes these with the resistor jumper instead of the Transformers? Pros/Cons?

Anything else I should think about?

Here's the schematic for reference.

Re: Recapping Altec 525A
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2018, 02:30:15 PM »
5.1 uF is adequate.  Remember the cathode of the 5840 is elevated to HT so you need a cap rated for 350 volts or so; the voltage across the cap is full HT until the tube heats and draws current.  If you use a output transformer, you don't want the capacitor to short out and put DC on the primary and ruin the transformer.  Use a good quality capacitor for C2.  Have you tried using a M30 or M20 mic on these supplies before working on them?