500 format - switches & front panel

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thomasdf

Hello

I am new to 500 format and I am working on some preamps. I am looking for quality DPDT / 2PDT and why not SPDT angled pins switches.
What are you guys using ?
My idea is to use a pair of these for polarity and phantom, as well as the grayhill gain rotary to hold the front panel and PCB together, and maybe avoid the L shaped plate. A bit on the cheap side, I know.
So I'd prefer if they had a threaded bushing to be locked to the frontpanel

Big plus if these switches have a Kicad library, but I can draw it myself with a proper datasheet

Also curious where to know where you get your 500 frontpanel made, in Europe. I would like to supply a vector file, rather than use a proprietary software.

Thanks in advance !

Thomas

It has been done, just using a flat metal plate (important for module to module shielding) for the side with holes in it to attach the PCB...
C&K is a good choice for PCB mount threaded bushing right angle switches, don't cheap out on these as they will fail!
Add an output level control, if your pre has any headroom it is always better to turn down the output than pad the input. With switched gain you need a "fine tune" control, it works for that, too.

This Is my summer project... Panel made at frontpanel.de... for angled toggle switches you can look at reichelt or mouser... The First One Is cheaper.... For footprint you can check componentsearchengine... I do this on mouser i check parts and look for footprint and 3d models... Another source Is snap eda... Sometimes 3d models are not there.. so i go to 3Dcontents...

Attachments

• IMG_20240824_093416.jpg
    IMG_20240824_093416.jpg
    2 MB · Views: 3
this is a preamp i'm going to build