7915 pinout on schematic incorrect?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BrianJSiegel

I'm working on an EMT/Barco 981 and am not getting the -15V from the power supply. I found where the fault is but I'm having trouble understanding the pinout of this 7915 as it is shown on this schematic...pin 2 should be the input and pin 3 should be the output from what I understand looking at the 7915 datasheet but I'm still fairly new at this so I could be missing something or just simply confusing myself.

That being said, this is the exact spot where its losing the voltage.
I've replaced the regulator and it gives me the same incorrect readings.
What am I doing wrong or not understanding? Please any help would be very much appreciated.
Thanks fellas in advance for your help.
-Regards, Brian
IMG_0730.jpg

Nevermind the schematic - what's on the board? What are pins 2 and 3 connected to, respectively?

Or what if the pinout wasn't mentioned on the schematic? It rarely is...

And, on the other hand, how certain are you that nothing is shorter downstream, between the -15v rail and ground? Is the 7915 getting warm/hot?

The pinout is OK like this, (in some datasheets) L79XXCV have weird pin numbers (see attached picture - taken from STM L7915CV). Maybe C812, R807 or the connector is shorting? Where are you trying to measure the -15V? Could be the PCB trace/pad on the output of the regulator is broken.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    13.2 KB · Views: 15
Nevermind the schematic - what's on the board? What are pins 2 and 3 connected to, respectively?

Or what if the pinout wasn't mentioned on the schematic? It rarely is...

And, on the other hand, how certain are you that nothing is shorter downstream, between the -15v rail and ground? Is the 7915 getting warm/hot?
7915 is not getting hot. I get -23V at pin 3 and .04V at pin 2.