MXR 126 DOubler/Flanger dry signal only

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BrianJSiegel

MXR 126 Doubler/Flanger goes silent the more I turn the dry/wet knob to wet. All the way to 100% muted when fully wet. Otherwise everything looks to be working, all the LEDs are responsive, just no wet signal. I'm new to working with opamps in schematics and trying to understand the circuits and I'm having trouble tracing to where the problem could be. Any help would be very much appreciated. thanks fellas!

Attachments

• mxr_m_126_flanger_doubler.jpeg
    mxr_m_126_flanger_doubler.jpeg
    146.4 KB · Views: 36
see if the audio signal is making its way into and out of U4,,,, if that's an old reticon CCD they are long obsolete. Confirm the U4 is getting proper clock signals (that is relatively easy and possible to fix).

JR

see if the audio signal is making its way into and out of U4,,,, if that's an old reticon CCD they are long obsolete. Confirm the U4 is getting proper clock signals (that is relatively easy and possible to fix).

JR
Excellent. I'm on it, I will report back with what I find. Thank you so much

The schematic says CCD, IIRC that was a reticon (5106?) long obsolete CCD (charge coupled device). The 5106 was a sweet part and I used in an a commercial Bozak design, but that part went obsolete in the 80s. SAD 1024 is a BBD (bucket brigade) also obsolete but perhaps findable. There are still chinese BBDs made but different process so circuit would have to be modified to use.

JR

I've fixed a couple of Reticon based devices (where I thought the chip might be gone) by tuning the clock signals using the trimpots. There was a very narrow window of combinations where it worked. You could also have dirty or damaged trimpots, look at this first before changing the chip.