A (silly?) summing box idea...

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Marc Girard

Hello there,

I'm new around here and I'd like to say that this board is very cool. I'm building my GSSL these days and the amount of information available thru this board is simply great! Can we be friends!?!? :grin: :roll:

Now, I'm no electronic expert but I have that funny idea in my mind... And since I"m not an expert, I wonder if it would work. So here it is:

What about a little "stomp-box" that would have a DB-25 connector (Tascam wiring) at one end and two XLRs at the other end? It could be a little box we could carry in our pocket to do some external summing... And send the final output to a nice Neve or tube preamp for make up gain.

Pretty much like the Folcrom thing I'd say, but more portable, only 8 channels and hard wired pairs (like, all the odds summed to the left and evens to the right).

I read somewhere that a mic-pre like to see "200R" and that I simply have to multiply my number of channels I need. Say, 4 channels x 200R = 800ohms. Does that make any sense?

Would it be as easy as soldering 800ohms resistors to the DB25 pins and solder all the ends directly to the XLR connector? It's almost impossible, I'm sure there's something I'm missing here, since the Folcrom sells for around 800$ US...

Thanks for reading!
[/img]

Hey Mark, welcome to The Lab! I remember you from the Paris users group, so I thought I'd roll out the welcome mat this time. I can't answer your questions specifically, but there have been a lot of summing mixer designs floating around here. One that comes to mind is a design from a member named NY Dave. I'm sure it shouldn't be too hard to fing the thread with the search function.

Regards,
Chris Wargo

Chris, that "Sleeper" icon is a riot! That was a great movie.