A waste of Money...

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

berkleystudios

***RANT WARNING*** but a topic that needs discussing

I am still in college (3rd year) and I cant help but notice the absolute waste that happens in universities. the focus of this will be one gear (those still in good working order, outdated and not working but easily fixed, or those that can be scraped for parts) but can be applied to any facet of a university. i am a recording tech in one of the hall and we have gear hidden in every corner of the building, some old tape machines ( out dated but in my opinion should still be in use for a class of some sort) old compressors that are not the best but could be used to teach the concepts to newer students, and high quality gear that the professors lock up and greedily treat as there own and hide under the blanket that they are protecting the gear from being damaged from inexperienced users (ie the students paying thousands to gain experience by attending the university).

now to some of my professors defense, i know the budget is limited and gaining new gear can be a process, but when they take gear home for personal use, it becomes unprofessional.

now for the gear that could be sold that really has no use for us they hoard, because the department bought it and if they sell it the university gets the money not the department, and i can understand why they dont want to sell the pieces, but it is a public university that receives tax pay dollars as well as tuition for the school, if i knew another department was doing that i would be very annoyed, because they are raising the cost for everyone else.