[BUILD] Hairball Audio - Elements

Help Support GroupDIY:

cmac

Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2016
Messages
12
Hairball Audio said:
Do you have another op-amp you can swap in to rule out a bad op-amp?

Alright, I finally got swapping a BA512 op amp from one of my working Copper Pres. It worked! Perhaps it got fried when the capacitors C505-506 blew? Anyway, that is definitely the issue, I tested the input output knobs and Pad switch. The preamp worked perfectly with the new Op Amp. I am to assume the easiest solution is to order a new one from hairball? They are so small I imagine it would be difficult, if not impossible, to troubleshoot? Glad its figured out! As always, thanks for the help.

Clinton
 

Echo North

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 21, 2006
Messages
4,433
Location
Seattle, WA
cmac said:
Alright, I finally got swapping a BA512 op amp from one of my working Copper Pres. It worked! Perhaps it got fried when the capacitors C505-506 blew? Anyway, that is definitely the issue, I tested the input output knobs and Pad switch. The preamp worked perfectly with the new Op Amp. I am to assume the easiest solution is to order a new one from hairball? They are so small I imagine it would be difficult, if not impossible, to troubleshoot? Glad its figured out! As always, thanks for the help.

Clinton

Not impossible, but I find it easier just to get a new one.

Mike
 

EmoRiot

Active member
Joined
Mar 18, 2005
Messages
39
Location
Beautiful Downtown Burbank
Hey there Hairball. I started my build tonight and everything was going swimmingly stuffing my PCB with resistors until I got to the last three. Shown below...

p.jpeg


But the color bands on the resistors I have indicate, if I'm reading them correctly, that I have two 2M resistors and one 1M resistor - not 200k and 100k. I've got a picture of my resistors below as they were in my kit. Do I have the wrong resistors or am I reading these bands wrong?

p.jpeg
 

EmoRiot

Active member
Joined
Mar 18, 2005
Messages
39
Location
Beautiful Downtown Burbank
Aha! I figured it out.

The orange band looked yellow to me. But if I recognize it at orange then the values make sense and I'm off and on my way with diodes and transistors.
 

Fuzz Face

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 22, 2018
Messages
142
Location
Anaheim
EmoRiot said:
Aha! I figured it out.

The orange band looked yellow to me. But if I recognize it at orange then the values make sense and I'm off and on my way with diodes and transistors.
Do you have a DMM? As stated in the build guide, you should double check resistors by measuring them. Then there’s no question
 

EmoRiot

Active member
Joined
Mar 18, 2005
Messages
39
Location
Beautiful Downtown Burbank
Fuzz Face said:
Do you have a DMM? As stated in the build guide, you should double check resistors by measuring them. Then there’s no question

Yeah I had been testing them all night but the readings on those three were a little weird - but only when I was unsure of the bands. Once I set my DMM correctly for the expected resistance it all read as expected. Thanks!
 

iantaylorsutton

New member
Joined
Jan 12, 2019
Messages
2
Just finished my 2nd Copper mic pre kit (built the first one about 8 mos ago). Anyway, I've noticed that the first one I built has a significantly reduced output compared to the new one. Any thoughts on what might be causing this? I've included a picture showing how vastly different they are from each other; as shown both preamps are producing the same amount of signal from the same microphone with the same cable.

Thank you!

Ian
 

Attachments

  • IMG_1119.jpg
    IMG_1119.jpg
    2 MB · Views: 13

Echo North

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 21, 2006
Messages
4,433
Location
Seattle, WA
Swap the op-amps, see if the issue follows the op-amp.

iantaylorsutton said:
Just finished my 2nd Copper mic pre kit (built the first one about 8 mos ago). Anyway, I've noticed that the first one I built has a significantly reduced output compared to the new one. Any thoughts on what might be causing this? I've included a picture showing how vastly different they are from each other; as shown both preamps are producing the same amount of signal from the same microphone with the same cable.

Thank you!

Ian
 

iantaylorsutton

New member
Joined
Jan 12, 2019
Messages
2
Hairball Audio said:
Swap the op-amps, see if the issue follows the op-amp.

Thanks for the prompt reply. Good news. It turns out i'm just an idiot! I failed to take into consideration that the louder of the two preamps was also hitting my FET Rack before hitting my converters, and even in "bypass" mode and at unity gain was still bumping up the signal a few db.

Thanks again for your help!

Ian
 

Echo North

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 21, 2006
Messages
4,433
Location
Seattle, WA
iantaylorsutton said:
Thanks for the prompt reply. Good news. It turns out i'm just an idiot! I failed to take into consideration that the louder of the two preamps was also hitting my FET Rack before hitting my converters, and even in "bypass" mode and at unity gain was still bumping up the signal a few db.

Thanks again for your help!

Ian

Nice!  8)
 

curranm

Active member
Joined
Nov 11, 2012
Messages
39
just finished two copper preamps, everything works wonderfully(I Think) DI's. mic pre,and phantom power, BUT there was an audible "click" happening when I would have the phantom power engaged. This is NOT a click from pressing or engaging the switches this was a "click" ONLY when the phantom power was engaged. IT HAS gone away , BUT I am curious what this could have been. I was in BOTH preamps, but everything seems fine now...................
 

Walshy

New member
Joined
Feb 25, 2014
Messages
3
Location
Sydney, Australia
Hi,

Just finished 4 x Copper pre's and I'm glad to say I've had great success! They are sounding awesome!

Just a question though. I ran a 1k sine wave through each pre just to have a rudimentary look and listen at the distortion that occurs as the gain is increased. Everything is working fine (can't wait to colour a snare!!), however, I noticed that there is a steady 1db fluctuation when I have the gain cranked to 10. Over the course of 14 secs, the signal rises and falls by 1db (see pic attached). This is the same for each pre.

As I lower the gain, the amount of db of fluctuation decreases. It becomes negligible once gain is down to 3db and less.

Any thoughts? I'm a bit worried that the common denominator is the Lindell chassis

Cheers,

Walshy
 

Attachments

  • Pro Tools 2_01_2021 11_36_32 AM.png
    Pro Tools 2_01_2021 11_36_32 AM.png
    135.8 KB · Views: 4

abeLovesDIY

Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2020
Messages
8
Just finished my 3rd Bronze. Before powering up I tested continuity for shorts, and this one has a short between +16 and -16. Not sure where I messed up, any one run into this before?
IMG_20210521_193450629.jpg
 

abeLovesDIY

Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2020
Messages
8
Mike helped me narrow it down to a bad op-amp DOA.
I had another Bronze with an issue: a short between +16 and +48 which I solved myself, but will post here in case anyone else has the issue on this or another Element Build. If you aren't careful, there is a VIA that is +48 near Fuse F100 (+16v). If you are sloppy you might get a bridge there.
 
Top