Carnhill VTB 9072 DI Transformer with line level audio?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sam0311

Hi all,

I’m pretty new to the word of DIY and looking to get my hands dirty by making a few different passive DI boxes.

One of these will be used for balancing a mono synth. I want the DI to be as small as possible so I can tuck it neatly away behind the synth on my desk.

I was wondering if anyone had any experiences the Carnhill VTB 9072 DI Transformer and knows how well it deals with line level audio?

I was originally looking at using the VTB 9046 (10k:600) since it says it’s designed for line level input, will attenuate less and the impedances would probably be fine for what I’m using it for. I’ve now started to lean towards the VTB 9072 (144k:250) instead since I think it will make the box more versatile - the higher input impedance means I can use it for guitar or bass if I choose and the lower output impedance would be closer to what a mic preamp would need.

Link to the Audio Maintenance site for the transformers specs:

www.audiomaintenance.com/downloads/carnhill_design_guide.pdf

Anyway just wanted to have someone to run this by, would appreciate any input.

Cheers

I've not used either of them, but the 9072 is listed as a "High Level Audio Signal DI Transformer", which gives me the impression that it's intended for line level signals. Colin at Audio Maintenance is a helpful guy, shoot him an email or give him a call, I'm sure he'll be able to give you some hard info on how it handles line level signals.

The secondary impedance is nice and low (250Ω with parallel secondaries, around what you'd expect for a microphone output), and it gives you up to 27dB of signal reduction (or less, depending on how you wire it up), so it'll work perfectly in front of a mic preamp.