ChatGPT is pretty amazing

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ach

GDIY Supporter
In my day job as a data systems engineer, I have been exploring ChatGPT to help find information and write quick code scaffolds. Today I was revisiting my knowledge of audio transformers and gave ChatGPT a go. The results were pretty amazing:

Prompt:
Have you read the Jensen transformers book 'Audio Transformers' by Bill Whitlock?

Response:
As an AI language model, I don't "read" books in the traditional sense, but I have access to a vast amount of information, including knowledge about various books and their contents up to my knowledge cutoff date in September 2021. I am familiar with the book "Audio Transformers" by Bill Whitlock, which was published by Jensen Transformers.
The book is a comprehensive guide to audio transformers, covering topics such as transformer theory, specifications, applications, and design considerations. It is highly regarded by audio professionals and enthusiasts alike for its in-depth exploration of transformer technology and its role in audio equipment.
If you have any questions related to the book or audio transformers, feel free to ask, and I will do my best to help you.

Prompt:
Based on information in the book. How is the reactive inductive reactance of a transformer calculated when the only information available are the primary and secondary impedances, the primary and secondary dc resistances, and the -3db corner frequency?

Response:
Based on the information given and considering the context of the book "Audio Transformers" by Bill Whitlock, we can approximate the reactive inductive reactance of a transformer using the following steps:

Calculate the turns ratio ( n ) using the square root of the ratio of secondary impedance (Z2) to primary impedance (Z1):
n = √(Z2 / Z1)