Chiswick VK1 meter problem

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

johnheath

Hi…

I have just built a clone of the Chiswick VK1 vary-mu comp and I have some trouble getting the meter working… at all.

After reading about the Altec 436 and its meter …thing I have tried almost everything that I have read but I can't make it work.

First of all I did not have any 6BZ7 or ECC85 home so I tried a 12AT7 and 12AY7 instead (This might be the problem but I do not know)

Otherwise the compressor is built after the attached schematic.

I designed the B+ and heater supply filtering on my own and the sound is good and working… I have no former experience with the Altec or Chiswick so I cannot say much about the compression but it works even though it is rather … kind but with a transparent touch to it.

Anyway… the meter. I have tried a vast amount of different trimpots to get the meter honing in on zero… tried all different settings to see if there is a change. Tried it with and without a preamp… vocal or guitar.

The meter I have is bought from Don-audio in Germany and it is actually the only one I have found that would fit into a 1U front panel. Link to the meter is also attached for those who want to see.

I also took it apart to see if there was a rectifier inside ( read that it would not work with a internal rectifier in the VU-meter) but I couldn't find anything except the magnet and coil.

Thanks in advance

/John

Attachments

• 1schems.pdf
    53.2 KB · Views: 50
And here is the link to the meter itself.

https://www.don-audio.com/VU-dB-Meter-D1010SL-Slim-Audio

Thanks

/John

johnheath said:
Anyway… the meter. I have tried a vast amount of different trimpots to get the meter honing in on zero… tried all different settings to see if there is a change.