Christmas Gingerbread

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pstamler

Hi folks:

Merry Christmas! In honor of the holiday, here's a gingerbread I've been making as Christmas/Hanukkah gifts for about 35 years.

Fort Chartres Gingerbread (9x9")

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F. Start boiling a kettle of water on the stove. Using soft margarine, grease and flour a 9x9" baking pan. In a large bowl, cream:

1/2 cup (= 1/4 lb.) soft margarine (see note 2 - very important)
2 tbsp. sugar

In a small cup or bowl, combine:

1-1/2 tsp. Ener-G Egg Replacer (formerly Jolly Joan Egg Replacer -- see note 3)
2 tbsp. tap water

[OR, if you're not serving it to me, beat one egg.]

Mix into large bowl. Stir in:

1 cup light molasses (I prefer Grandma's but Brer Rabbit works fine too)
1 cup boiling water

Set aside. Sift and measure:

2-1/4 cups unbleached white flour

Resift into a smaller bowl with:

1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. ground ginger
1 tsp. ground cinnamon

Stir into the wet ingredients; beat using electric mixer (on low) until smooth, typically 2 minutes. Pour into the baking pan; bake for 45-50 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. Cool on a rack.

NOTES: 1) This is an adaptation of "Fort Atkinson Gingerbread", a recipe dating from 1870 that was published in Betty Crocker's Picture Cook Book (McGraw-Hill/General Mills, c. 1950).