Console PSU recap - What about those tantalums?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I have been servicing a vintage Neve console for 11 years now, and have never had a single issue with tants in signal path, in my opinion they are part of the neve sound, which you may or may not enjoy. But absolutely tants don't belong in PSUs, only in signal path in my experience. Electrolytics for everything else.
I'll say exactly the same with my 70' Studer console, mostly daily use and self serviced since years.
Thousand tans (in fact everything up to 100u...) I barely replace 1 or 2 per year.
BUT replaced with alu for anything related to power supply (PSU, or modules onboard regulations)

Also servicing sometime same era/design consoles (089) for pple
One of them have been completely recapped with alu (not by me), I service the console to fix faulty modules as full alignment/calibration, I run REW on everything after that to check all is ok, and it was bad regarding frequency response (like -3@ 60Hz...) for all channels, so maybe it was on masters or line out cards.
I have no time left to investigate further before the owner take back the console, I rapidly check caps value, see nothing bad or error...so still frustrated and puzzled about this since...

OH, and that lovely aroma when they short across the PS rails!!!
I only leave them in for timing circuits. They do maintain high accuracy for that, and nearly never fail.
Never never never leave them in across the PS rails. Never ever.
Dave O.

Yeah - but I have (literally) seen relatively modern electrolytics in PSU type apps burst at random for no good reason on occasion.

I have been using Panasonic Electrolytic capacitors rated at 105degres for 16 years in hundreds of recap jobs and never ever had 1 one them fail.