D-LA2A Support Thread

Help Support GroupDIY:

BGroen

Member
Joined
May 22, 2020
Messages
9
Hello everyone,

I am almost done with my D-LA2A. I am running the first tests with tubes but without T4B. To my disappointment the left channel does not pass any sound when switched IN.
The right channel does pass sound and so I swapped input transformers, tubes and gain knob for trouble-shooting. These all seem to work fine. Further more I replaced one relay, I figured this might be the case. No result.

I have removed all tubes and disconnected the gain pot to minimize the 'search-area'.
I don't understand what I am measuring at my input transformer.

Sowter 4383 input:
                  L-channel (not working)      R-channel (working)
Brown        signal                                  signal
Pink          signal                                  no signal
Green        signal                                  signal
Blue          no signal                              signal
Gray and black no signal both channels.

If anyone has any suggestions or thoughts, that would be much appreciated!

Kind regards,
Beinte


 

Attachments

  • WhatsApp Image 2021-04-24 at 16.05.52.jpeg
    WhatsApp Image 2021-04-24 at 16.05.52.jpeg
    183.2 KB · Views: 33

BGroen

Member
Joined
May 22, 2020
Messages
9
Front view of my hopefully soon working D-LA2A.
 

Attachments

  • WhatsApp Image 2021-04-24 at 16.06.00.jpeg
    WhatsApp Image 2021-04-24 at 16.06.00.jpeg
    75.2 KB · Views: 32

BGroen

Member
Joined
May 22, 2020
Messages
9
[silent:arts] said:
Hi Beinte,
how are you measuring those signals?

Hi Volker,

Thanks for your response. I have a 1kHz test signal and I am measuring with my oscilloscope.
Negative terminal at star ground. Positive terminal at one of the transformer wires. See attached image.

Kind regards, Beinte
 

Attachments

  • Measure.jpg
    Measure.jpg
    387.7 KB · Views: 24

[silent:arts]

Well-known member
White Market Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2004
Messages
5,139
Location
Berlin, Germany
Ok, this is fine for the transformer secondary (the blue wire).
You either have no connection from the molex to the PCB,
or a short to ground.
(Without the transformer) check for continuity to R107.
(Without the transformer) measure R105.
 

BGroen

Member
Joined
May 22, 2020
Messages
9
Thanks for your reply Volker. R105 and R107 are fine (comparing to the working channel).
Today I checked the molex of the input XLR, and here it was.... Now it's fixed! :)

Pictures will follow :)

 

guitar4444

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 1, 2009
Messages
95
I built this D-LA2A quite a few years back. It works really well but one thing that bothers me is that one of the tubes is really close to the power supply caps. Can somebody tell me if that changed on a later revision of the circuit board? thanks Greg
 

audiophreak

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 3, 2008
Messages
880
Location
Litchfield, CT. USA
I built this D-LA2A quite a few years back. It works really well but one thing that bothers me is that one of the tubes is really close to the power supply caps. Can somebody tell me if that changed on a later revision of the circuit board? thanks Greg
If you built it in a 3U case , I used a 7-Pin Miniature Vacuum Tube Test Socket Adapter as a “ spacer “ socket to get that one tube away from the PSU caps per channel - worked for me :)
 

Attachments

  • 5DA5A60E-E05B-479D-BA3D-6426FC6AB7EE.jpeg
    5DA5A60E-E05B-479D-BA3D-6426FC6AB7EE.jpeg
    80.9 KB · Views: 6
  • 93B5E02C-FA89-48E7-949E-7BD04B451A83.jpeg
    93B5E02C-FA89-48E7-949E-7BD04B451A83.jpeg
    78.2 KB · Views: 9

[silent:arts]

Well-known member
White Market Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2004
Messages
5,139
Location
Berlin, Germany
I built this D-LA2A quite a few years back. It works really well but one thing that bothers me is that one of the tubes is really close to the power supply caps. Can somebody tell me if that changed on a later revision of the circuit board? thanks Greg
There are no different revisions of this PCB, and it never changed.
 

JW

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 8, 2005
Messages
865
Location
Portland USA
Can someone verify that this power transformer is okay? Looks like what I'm looking for. AS-1T250 - 100VA 250V Transformer

I've been using the Rhondo power transformer but it's blowing fuses all on it's lonesome for some reason, so I'm gonna try something else. The Rhondo has been a little loud mechanically as well, so what the heck.
 

Latest posts

Top